Women And Their Weight

I am a woman, a girl and a female. I was taught to be polite, to not talk to strangers and to eat my vegetables. I was taught to respect my elders and those in authority over me. All of these were accepted in my heart and to this day I don’t have a problem with a single one of those. The problems I often find are when these principles are flaunted in ways that no longer make them respectful, happy actions but an extremely difficult attitude problem. I will try my best to perform these actions with a happy heart, true and honest. If I don’t, and I wrong you and God in doing so, then please let me know, kindly, respectfully, as you would want to be treated.

Something else I was taught as a child is to respect how God made me. I was born a female. I won’t change my looks with plastic surgery or fake liking mushrooms because I think it might impress someone (or something along those lines). Knowing this, I look at my weight differently. I am 5 feet and six inches tall. I weigh 152 pounds. Am I overweight? Yes. Extremely? No. Do I struggle with my weight? Yes. Why?

Now, most people would say that society defines what a beautiful weight is, and right now society has seriously misunderstood this definition. But our society isn’t completely to blame.

TRUE: beauty isn’t defined by one’s weight but rather by one’s character. However, the Bible also tells us that our body is a temple (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). When a person has a relationship with God as their Lord and Savior they also have Him living inside of them. This part of God, called the Holy Spirit, is just that: holy. We have a responsibility to take care our body, now, as a temple.

What does this encompass? First, understand that you shouldn’t beat yourself up for your weight! Where you’re at is probably perfectly fine. In what circumstance is it not fine? When you’re not healthy. I’m not here to tell you what to do. I am most certainly not your doctor. But please, objectively look at your weight and see if you’re healthy or not.

This is all kind of confusing and probably hard to follow. So, what am I saying?

Your beauty is never, and should never, be defined by your weight. Besides, beauty is irrelevant in the scheme of things. But are you healthy? If not, that’s fixable. Talk to to your doctor and take some steps to show God that you will take care of the body he has put in your charge.

You are worth so much more than the number on the scale.

Love,

~Atreecia

Leave a Reply

